the Fairgame Archive

2005-10-11: When I was a child, I gamed as a child...
by Meguey

I started playing 'pretend' long before I came across role-playing games. We had world creation, conflict resolution (albeit not that great), and great adventures. When I discovered D&D at ~7 years old, I was really ready for the structure it provided.  Lately, this thread at the Forge has me thinking about how our/my play has changed over the years, and why.

When I was a child, all the role-playing I wanted was grand high adventure hack-n-slash-n-rescue the princess (Yes, there are things to talk about here as to gender, etc. Later). When I was a bit older, say 10, I began to want more sophistication in my games, villains that were not as cut and dried, characters with more dimension. Parallel this, we have the brain development patterns typical of children everywhere: magical thinking as a young child under 7 (beginning of teeth-change signifies a general shift out of magical thought), black/white highly dichotomized thinking as a 7-8-9 y.o, then a re-emergence of grayscale and case-by-case judgment as a pre-teen. Why is it that so many people have such an intense experience of games with minutely detailed, highly controlled worlds in their teens? I wonder if social-emotional-cognitive development isn't deeply involved.

Look at the life of a teen: teens have a high need to be in control, often expressing as 'out-of-control' behavior. Teens are constantly confronted with intense emotional stuff, both from within their own development, and from the society at large, which tells them also "This is cool, and you can't have it." So, we create worlds that are COOL and we are TOTALLY in control of every last piddling detail. This creates a feeling of power and focus where we are so often powerless (even over our own bodies) and without clear focus, thanks to the modern disconnect, generally, between teens and meaningful experience.