the Fairgame Archive

2006-01-16: Dreamation Bound
by Emily

For all those in the greater NJ area, (and beyond if you can make it) the fine folks of Double Exposure are putting on another convention next weekend: Dreamation 2006, January 19-22.

The line up of games being run for the Indie Game Explosion is wickedly impressive. A heap of them will be run by their authors (Michael S. Miller will run With Great Power, Tony Lower-Basch will run Capes, Luke Crane will run Burning Wheel, Ben Lehman will run Polaris, and I'll be there running Breaking the Ice), and there are sneak previews of games soon to hit the presses going on (Face of Angels by Clinton R. Nixon, Shock by Joshua Newman and Carry by Nathan Paoletta).

This is my first time going, but I cannot wait. From what I hear, this is one of the best cons around. Vincent & Joshua had a great time last year. Any good war stories folks want to share?

2006-01-16 18:01:53 Matt Wilson

I wish I could go. Just didn't have any spare cash for plane fare. Damn tuition.

Hope it's fun!

2006-01-16 19:06:04 Ninja Monkey J

It was the first time I played Mountain Witch, and it was an excellent experience. Also, I've never before or since eaten so little vegetable matter for such an extended period, and we had to actually steal water to not die. This time, I think we should bring some water.

Damn, Mountain Witch was fun, and that game was the reason I decided that I'd take a swing at a late-night game of Shock: to get a really solid group playing and get some feedback before it goes to press in March.

The whole con was a blast, too. The people-meeting alone was worth it. That's where I first met Keith, Clinton (whom Vincent and I met in the bus station, quite by accident), Mike Miller (who ran what I understand was a typically excellent game of My Life with Master), Tony L-B, Jenn Rodgers, and Andrew Morris, Eric Provost, and... it seems like I'm forgetting some people I had a really good time with.